Tag Archives: Shadrack Chesir

Sikiyas Abate beats Shadrack Chesir at Poznań Half Marathon

Ethiopia’s Sikiyas Abate Misganaw took the top honors for the second time at the 14th edition of the PKO Poznań Half Marathon that was held on Sunday (3) in Poznań, Poland.

The 21 year-old who making his return after three years battled the windy and cold weather patterns as he also faced stiff competions from Shadrack Chesir who was making his half marathon debut and his compatriot Hiskel Ghebru.

Abate overwhelmed the two two cutting the tape in a new personal best of 1:01.15 with Chesir coming home in second place in a life time best of 1:01.27.

Ghebru closed the first three podium places in a time of 1:02.19.

Ethiopia’s Abera Lema and the fourth fastest European marathoner behind Kaan Kigen Özbilen, Bashir Abdi and Mo Farah finished in fourth and fifth place in a time of 1:02.21 and 1:02.29 respectively.



  1. Adisu Tafere            (ETH) 1:01.15
  2. Shadrack Chesir     (KEN) 1:01.27
  3. Hiskel Ghebru          (ERI) 1:02.19
  4. Abera Lema             (ETH) 1:02.21
  5. Sondre Moen          (NOR) 1:02.29
  6. Paul Tiongik           (KEN) 1:03.00
  7. Krystian Zalewski (POL) 1:03.12
  8. Kamil Karbowiak   (POL) 1:04.10
  9. Ismael Kiprono      (KEN) 1:04.40

Wilfred Kimitei wins the Iten End Gender Based Violence Race

Wilfred Kimitei took the top honors at the Iten End Gender Based Violence (GBV) race that was held on Sunday (5) in Iten, Elgeyo Marakwet County.

The 2016 African silver medallist in 10000m fought for the honors with Patrick Kipkurui but experience played a role here as Kimitei cut the in 30:07.1 with Kipkurui coming home six seconds later.

Peter Mwaniki closed the first three podium finishes in 30:14.4.

Daniel mateiko and Kiprono Kipkemei finished in fourth and fifth place in 30:18.8 and 30:28.2 respectively.



  1. Wilfred Kimite         -30:07.1
  2. Patrick Kipkurui      – 30:12.6
  3. Peter Mwaniki          – 30:14.4
  4. Daniel mateiko        – 30:18.8
  5. Kiprono Kipkemei   – 30:28.2
  6. Kelvin Kibiwott        – 30:38.9
  7. Paul Korir                  – 30:44.6
  8. Shadrack Chesir       – 30:48.9
  9. Bernard Kipkurui     – 30:54.8
  10. Geoffrey Kipsang     – 31:01.1