Tag Archives: Masresha Bere Bisetegn

Ezekiel Kiprop runs away with the Linz Marathon title

Kenya’s Ezekiel Koech Kiprop ran away with the 19th edition of the Linz Marathon that was held on Sunday (24) in Linz, Austria.

The 37 year-old who has now won this race two times surged ahead of his main opponent Masresha Bere Bisetegn from Ethiopia at the 40km mark never looking back to cut the tape in 2:09.43, with the Ethiopian coming in a distant second in 2:11.00.

“The running conditions were ideal. I am very satisfied with my appearance in Linz. It was optimal preparation and perfect support. I’m really happy about my second win here. The audience was just great”. Said Kiprop.

Jonathan Yego Kiptoo from Kenya closed the first three podium finishes in 2:13.22.

The first Austrian to cross the line was Manfred Steger who finished in sixth place in 2:29.59.


  1. Ezekiel Koech Kiprop       (KEN) 2:09.43
  2. Masresha Bere Bisetegn  (ETH) 2:11.00
  3. Jonathan Yego Kiptoo      (KEN) 2:13.22

Sang shows class at Warsaw Half Marathon

Kenya’s Ezrah Kiprotich Sang won the 13th edition of the PZU Warsaw Half Marathon that was held on Sunday (25) in Warsaw, Poland.

Sang was on top of his class as he beat off Kassa Mekashaw from Ethiopia when he cut the tape in 1:01.37 with Mekashaw crossing the line fifteen second later. Hillary Kiptum Maiyo also from Kenya closed the podium finish in 1:02.18.

Morocco’s El Hassan Oubaddi came in fourth in 1:02.52 and fifth place was taken by another Kenyan Abel Kibet Rop of 1:02.57

The first Polish to cross the line was Błażej Brzeziński, who finished tenth place in 1:05.17.


  1. Ezrah Kiprotich Sang  (KEN) 1:01.37
  2. Kassa Mekashaw          (ETH) 1:01.52
  3. Hillary Kiptum Maiyo  (KEN) 1:02.18
  4. El Hassan Oubaddi       (MAR) 1:02.52
  5. Kibet Rop Abel               (KEN) 1:02.57
  6. Masresha Bisetegn        (ETH) 1:02.58
  7. Joseph Seutloali             (LES) 1:04.40
  8. Yuki Yagi                          (JPN) 1:05.03
  9. Zouhair Talbi                  (MAR) 1:05.12
  10. Błażej Brzeziński             (POL) 1:05.17