Tag Archives: Lake Biwa Marathon

Only three Kenyans invited to Osaka Marathon

Three Kenyan male runners are the only elite athletes invited at the combined 10th edition of the Osaka Marathon and 77th Lake Biwa Mainichi Marathon that will be held on Sunday (27) in Osaka, Japan.

The three invited elite athletes are James Rungaru, Allan Biwott and Joseph Macharia Ndirangu. Macharia leads the group as he comes with the fastest time on paper of 2:07.53 that he got when he took the honors at the 2018 Lake Biwa Marathon.

Rungaru has had a gradual rise from the track to being half marathons specialty an he comes to this race with a personal best of 2:08.25 that he got at the 2021 Fukuoka International Marathon where he finished in position three.

Another title contender is Allan Biwott who is making his marathon debut and he carries on his shoulders a personal best of 1:06.08 that he got at the 2019 Kenitra Half Marathon.

The three kenyans will face off with 275 Japanese that will be led by Yuta Shitara, who is the fastest runner in Japan, and Yuki Kawauchi, who will participate in the Osaka Marathon for the first time in 10 years since the first marathon.

The nine invited Japanese male runners have run under the sub 2:08 mark. The invited five female marathoners will be led Mai Ito, who represented Japan at the Rio Olympics.

The combined Tokyo and Lake Biwa Mainichi Marathon have invited a total number of 322.

The race course record for Tokyo marathon is 2:07.47 and was set in 2019 Asefa Tefera from Ethiopia while the women record is 2:26.29 and was set in 2019 by Aberu Mekuria also from Ethiopia in 2019. While Lake Biwa Marathon course record is held by Japan’s Kengo Suzuki with a time of 2:04.56 that was set in 2021.

Eliud Kipchoge to debut at Tokyo Marathon

World Marathon record-holder Eliud Kipchoge will make his debut at the 16th edition of the Tokyo Marathon which is a World Athletics Elite Platinum Label road race that will be held on March, 6, 2022.

Kipchoge’s goes to this race with the World’s leading time of 2:01.39 and will be facing a strong rich field including eight men with personal bests of under 2:05 barrier.

They include the defending champion, Ethiopia’s Birhanu Legese who is seeking to win his third Tokyo marathon title. Legese is third on the world marathon all-time list and his compatriot World sillver medallist, Mosinet Geremew.

Also in the race World bronze medallist, Kenya’s Amos Kipruto, the 2017 world marathon silver medallist, Ethiopia’s Tamirat Tola and their fellow sub-2:05 runners Shura Kitata, the 2020 world marathon majors champion, Kenya’s Jonathan Korir.

Home boy Japanese record-holder Kengo Suzuki, who ran 2:04.56 at the Lake Biwa Marathon in 2020 is also in contention as he tries to break the Africans footholds in marathon running.

“I would like to thank the organisers of the Tokyo Marathon to make it possible for me and my colleague athletes to race in Tokyo,” said Kipchoge. “My focus has been on Tokyo from the beginning of my training cycle, and I can say I am ready to race there. I am very excited to run in a country where running is a crucial part of the sport culture and am looking forward to experiencing the Japanese excitement for running the marathon in particular.”

Ndirangu wins his first marathon as he lifts Lake Biwa Marathon title

Kenya’s Macharia Ndirangu won the 73rd edition of the Lake Biwa Marathon that was held on Sunday (4) in Otsu near Lake Biwa, Japan.

Ndirangu who was debuting in the race took the surprise lead and never look backed beating his fellow country mate Albert Korir who came with a PB of 2:08.40.

Ndirangu could not lower the course record of 2:06.13 that was set in 2011 by Wilson Kipsang but managed to cut the tape in 2:07 .53.

He was followed by Korir who crossed the the line in 2:08.17 with New Zealands Jake Robertson another debutante coming in third in 2:08.26 breaking a 34-year national record.

The first Japanese to cross the line was Shogo Nakamura who crossed the line in seventh place in 2:10.51.



  1. Macharia Ndirangu (KEN) 2:07.53
  2. Albert Korir (KEN) 2:08.17
  3. Jake Robertson (NZL) 2:08.26