Tag Archives: Janet Ruguru

Margaret Chelimo dominate the women 10000m race

World 5000m silver medallist Margaret Chelimo beat a deep elite field in the women’s 10,000m race at the 10th edition of the National Police Service Track and Field Championships that were held today (15) at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani.

The 2018 Commonwealth Games silver medallist who was making her debut in the 25-lap race fought for the honors with the former world youth silver medallist Sandrafelis Chebet and  the 2015 World Cross Country Champion Stacey Chepkemboi Ndiwa.

But the 29 year-old who is also the 2015 All-Africa Games champion was too hot for the two handle as she forged ahead after dropping them with two laps to go to cross the line in a time of 31:51.7 with Chebet coming home in second in 32:28.7. Ndiwa, the 2018 Commonwealth Games silver medallist closed the first three podium places in a time of 33:15.7.

The 2022 Paris marathoner Janet Ruguru and the Japan based, Mary Wangari came home in fourth and fifth place in a time of 33:28.1 and 33:38.0 respectively.

The 2008 Olympic Games bronze medallist, Linet Masai still holds the Kenya National record with a time of 30:26.50 and she also holds the National Police Record with the same margin of time.


Rhonzas Kilimo breaks the course record at Guadalajara Half

Kenya’s Rhonzas Kilimo broke the course record at the 36th edition of the Guadalajara Half Marathon that was held on Sunday (20) in Guadalajara, Mexico.

Kilimo led a 1-2-3 podium finish but he did not have an easy ride he battled for honors with Benson Kipruto and Shadrack Kimining but he emerged superior cutting the tape in a new course record of 1:01.20 erasing the previous record of 1:01.48 that had been set in 2019 by Mathew Kisorio. Kipruto also finished well inside the course record with a time of 1:01.30.

Shadrack Kimining closed the podium finish also running under the old record clocking 1:01.33.

Samuel Mwangi Nduku and Robert Gaitho Gititu wrapped the Kenyan affair race as they finished in fourth and fifth place in 1:01.57 and 1:02.20 respectively.

The women race was won in a course record of 1:09.12 by Besu Sado from Ethiopia. Naom Jebet took the second place in 1:09.50 with Janet Ruguru closing the podium finishes in 1:09.56.

Pauline Korikwiang and Mayra Vidal from Mexico came home in fourth and fifth place in 1:12.45 and 1:15.04 respectively.



  1. Rhonzas Kilimo              (KEN) 1:01.20
  2. Benson Kipruto               (KEN) 1:01.30
  3. Shadrack Kimining         (KEN) 1:01.33
  4. Samuel Mwangi Nduku  (KEN) 1:01.57
  5. Robert Gaitho Gititu       (KEN) 1:02.20



  1. Besu Sado                     (ETH) 1:09:12
  2. Naom Jebet                   (KEN) 1:09:50
  3. Janet Ruguru                (KEN) 1:09:56
  4. Pauline Korikwiang     (KEN) 1:12:45
  5. Mayra Sanchew Vidal (MEX) 1:15:04