Tag Archives: Geoffrey Koech

Sandrafelis Chebet and Leonard Bett lift South Rift Cross Country titles

Former WorldU20 3000m steeplechase champion Leonard Kipkemoi Bett and World under 20 silver medalist Sandrafelis Chebet were the winners of South Rift Cross Country championships that were held today (Saturday 8) at the Njoro Boys High school in Nakuru County.

The 21 year-old was pushed to the wire by Geoffrey Kimutai who pushed him to the tape with the latter cutting the tape in 28:23, one second ahead of Kimutai. Andrew Mangati came home in third place in a time of 28:34.

Chebet who is fresh from winning the Sao Silvestre de Sao Paulo cross country ran away with the women title 32:03 ahead of Viola Chepngeno in 32:11 with Fancy Cherono taking in bronze medal in a time of 32:21.

Faith Cherono came home in fourth with the 2013 World silver medalist Champion, Mercy Cherono finishing in fifth in 32:54 and 33:07 respectively.



  1. Leonard Bett       (BMT)- 28:23
  2. Geoffrey Koech   (KRH)- 28:24
  3. Andrew Mangat  (NKR)- 28:34
  4. Mathu Samberu  (KJD)- 28:37
  5. Shem Tolu           (KRH)- 28:37



  1. Sandrafelis Chebet (KRH)- 32:03
  2. Viola Chepngeno   (KRH)- 32:11
  3. Fancy Cherono       (KRH)- 32:21
  4. Faith Cherono        (NKR)- 32:54
  5. Mercy Cherono       (KRH)- 33:07

Elijah Cheruiyot beats Titus Mbishei to lift the Eldama Ravine Half marathon title

Elijah Cheruiyot took the top honors at the Eldama Ravine Half marathon that was held on Saturday (30) in Ravine, Baringo County.

Cheuiyot who hails from Uasin Gishu beat the 2008 World Junior silver medallist Titus Mbishei to cut the tape in 1:30.25 with later coming in second in 1:03.35.

Leonard Langat from Nakuru closed the first three podium finishes in1:03.36

Cosmas Sang and Fredrick Dominge finished in fourth and fifth in 30:41.47 and 30:41.96 respectively.



  1. Kenneth Renju       30:13.05
  2. Dennis Kipkirui     30:19.90
  3. Bernard Kipkirui    30:23.18
  4. Cosmas Sang           30:41.47
  5. Fredrick Dominge  30:41.96

Amdework Walalegn beats Kenneth Renju to claim the Copenhagen title

Ethiopia’s Amdework Walalegn beat his fierce rival Kenneth Renju from Kenya at the sixth edition of the Copenhagen Half Marathon that was held on Sunday (19) in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Walalegn overpowered Renju with a fire kick at the finish line to cut the tape ahead of him in 59:10 with Renju crossing the line in two seconds later.

Daniel Mateiko from Kenya closed the first three podium finishes in 59:25.
Ethiopia’s Abe Tilahun and Zerei Kbro from Norway finished in fourth and fifth place in 59:46 and 1:00.07 respectively.

Three other Kenyans Enos Kakopil of 1:00.17,  Geoffrey Koech of 1:00.20 and Shadrack Kimining of1:01.12 finished in sixth, seventh and ninth place respectively.



  1. Amdework Walalegn  (ETH) 59:10
  2. Kenneth Renju             (KEN) 59:12
  3. Daniel Mateiko            (KEN)  59:25
  4. Abe Tilahun                  (ETH) 59:46
  5. Zerei Kbro                     (NOR) 60:07

Rhonex Kipruto threatens Leonard Komon world record at Birell Grand Prix 10K

World U20 10,000m champion, Rhonex Kipruto set the streets of Prague on fire last night, when he blasted move at the Birell Grand Prix 10K.

Kipruto threatened to tear down Leornard Komon’s world record of 26:44 when he fell short of it with two seconds to set the second fastest time over the same distance.
Kipruto, who last April ran a 27:08 USA all-comers record at the UAE Healthy Kidney 10K in New York, blasted from the start when he hit the 5km mark in 13:31.

The 18 year-old took on the last 5km with an astonishing 13:15 to smash the previous course record of 27:10 that was set by his fellow country-mate Benard Kimeli at last year’s edition.

All of the top-10 men last night ran under 28 minutes.

Kipruto lead a 1-2-3 Kenyan podium finish as he was followed by Geoffrey Koech who crossed the line in 27:18 with Mathew Kimeli who is also a training partner of Kipruto with both coached by Bro Colm O’Connell closing the podium three finishes in 27:26.

Kipruto pocketed a cool € 10,000 in prize money and time bonuses, but had he broke the world record he would have received a € 20,000 bonus.


  1. Rhonex Kipruto  (KEN) 27:46
  2. Geoffrey Koech   (KEN) 27:18
  3. Mathew Kimeli   (KEN) 27:26