Tag Archives: Geoffrey Kipsang

World 10K Bengaluru Race is BACK

After two years of postponement of the World 10K Bengaluru due to COVID-19, the race organisers on Thursday announced its return and it will be held on May 15, 2022 in Bengaluru, India.

The event will be conducted in two formats: one will be physical and the other one via app-based run.

The open 10K category will have some of the world’s elite athletes, Majja Run (5km), Senior Citizen Run (4.2km) and Champions with Disability (4.2km) will see the participation of amateur runners from across the country.

The virtual app-based run will be held via the specialized event app for two race categories – Open 10K and 5K.

Registrations for the World 10K Bengaluru 2022 begin on March 25 and close on May 11.

The last edition, which was held in 2019, saw the late Agnes Tirop of Kenya become the first women’s athlete to defend her title at World 10K Bengaluru. Ethiopia’s Andamlak Belihu took his first win in the men’s race.

The women course record of 31:19 was set by Tirop in 2019 while the Men’s record of 27:44 that was set in 2014 is held Geoffrey Kipsang.

Wilfred Kimitei wins the Iten End Gender Based Violence Race

Wilfred Kimitei took the top honors at the Iten End Gender Based Violence (GBV) race that was held on Sunday (5) in Iten, Elgeyo Marakwet County.

The 2016 African silver medallist in 10000m fought for the honors with Patrick Kipkurui but experience played a role here as Kimitei cut the in 30:07.1 with Kipkurui coming home six seconds later.

Peter Mwaniki closed the first three podium finishes in 30:14.4.

Daniel mateiko and Kiprono Kipkemei finished in fourth and fifth place in 30:18.8 and 30:28.2 respectively.



  1. Wilfred Kimite         -30:07.1
  2. Patrick Kipkurui      – 30:12.6
  3. Peter Mwaniki          – 30:14.4
  4. Daniel mateiko        – 30:18.8
  5. Kiprono Kipkemei   – 30:28.2
  6. Kelvin Kibiwott        – 30:38.9
  7. Paul Korir                  – 30:44.6
  8. Shadrack Chesir       – 30:48.9
  9. Bernard Kipkurui     – 30:54.8
  10. Geoffrey Kipsang     – 31:01.1