Tag Archives: Albany Snickers marathon

Alex Ekesa name missing even after winning Albany Snickers marathon

Kenya’s Alex Ekesa took the top honors at the Albany Snickers marathon that was held on Sunday (6) in Boston, United States.

The race organisers failed for not identifying the marathon winners name when they posted their final results pitting Alex as anonymous winner.

Ekesa while speaking exclusively to athletics.co.ke, was feeling let down that he had not be recognize for his efforts. “I really feel bad that I can win such a big race and my name not to appear on the results list but what is appearing is an anonymous winner,” said Ekesa.

The Albany Snickers marathon Race Results Screen shot

Ekesa battled for honors with his fellow country-mate David Too and Ethiopian Birhanu Kemal. The Kenyan took charge of the race at the 30km mark but Too managed to stick with him for the next 9km but as progressed towards the finish he gave a kick of his lifetime that his opponent could not handle cutting the tape in a time of 2:21.03 with Too crossing the line in second place fifty five seconds later.

“I feel so proud of the win in this race just two months from very bad injury that had seemed to shutter my dream down. So it’s a great comeback for me. Its so far my PB,” Ekesa said.

“One reason I’m being so proud mostly is that I have never lost in all the 3 marathons I have run here in the USA. Last year I won two after all the other big races on my list were cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic,” Ekesa concluded.

Kemal was forced to settle in third place after coming home three minutes later with a time of 2:25.25.

United States Connor Roche and Russell Brown finished in fourth and fifth place in a time of 2:28.32 and 2:29.22 respectively.

In the women category, Hirut Guangul from the United States took the honors in a time of 2:35.36 with Purity Munene from Kenya coming home in second place with a time of 2:48.04.

United States Amy Hines crossed the line in third place in 2:54.15

Ekesa and Guangul each took home a cool $3,000 for winning both races.



  1. Alex Ekesa          (KEN) 2:21.03
  2. David Too           (KEN) 2:21.58
  3. Birhanu Kemal   (ETH) 2:25.25
  4. Connor Roche    (USA) 2:28.32
  5. Russell Brown    (USA) 2:29.22




  1. Hirut Guangul        (USA) 2:35.36
  2. Purity Munene       (KEN) 2:48.04
  3. Amy Hines             (USA) 2:54.15