Tag Archives: Abbabiya Simbassa

Abbabiya Simbassa rans away with his second USATF 25 km title

Abbabiya Simbassa ran away with his second USATF 25 km Championships title race that was held on Saturday (23) in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

A dozen of runners jumped to the front and ran together through the early stages of the race. It wasn’t until five miles into the race when the lead pack would start to establish itself.

Haron Lagat, Simbassa, and Lawi Lalang would establish themselves up front, with Sam Chelanga, Brogan Austin, Futsum Zienasellassie, and Fred Huxham right off their shoulders. Austin and Huxham, along with Chelanga, would take over pacing duties through the half way point.

Austin and Lalang were the first drop off and it was a race to the finish for five. Lagat and Huxham would drop back, not able to match the finish speed, leaving Simbassa, Zienasellassie, and Chelanga to battle.

As Simbassa, Zienasellassie, and Chelanga sprinted to the finish, it was anyone’s guess as to who would pull away. Ultimately, it was Simbassa put on a strong finish to outkick the two at the tape crossing the line in a time of 1:14.27 forcing Zienasellassie to come in second in the same time.  Chelanga closed the first three podium finishes in 1:14.28.

Huxham and Lagat would finish in fourth and fifth place in 1:14.34 and 1:14.38 respectively.



  1. Abbabiya Simbassa      1:14.27
  2. Futsum Zienasellassie 1:14.27
  3. Sam Chelanga                1:14.28
  4. Fred Huxham                  1:14.34
  5. Haron Lagat                    1:14.38


Abbabiya Simbassa outkicks Augustus Maiyo to win USATF 10 Mile Championships

Abbabiya Simbassa has never won a USATF Running Circuit race, finishing 2nd in each of his past four races but he changed the tables at this year’s circuit as he out-kicked Augustus Maiyo at the sixth edition of the USATF 10 Mile Championships that was held on Sunday (12) in Washington.

Elkanah Kibet dropped from the lead group by mile four, Simbassa, Frank Lara, and Maiyo took turns leading the way. As packs formed behind the lead trio finding their own rhythms along the streets of Washington D.C., the trio continued to push the pace, passing through 10 km in 28:27.

Just past the 10 km split, Lara started to fall off the pace, leaving Simbassa and Maiyo running stride-for-stride with less than four miles to go.

In the final quarter mile, Simbassa used his superior speed to overpower Maiyo. With one final look over his shoulder, Simbassa keyed in on the finish line, raising his arms as he hit the tape, claiming his first USATF title in 46:18.

Maiyo finished strong and settled in second place 46:23, well ahead of the rest of the field and showing he’s in top form as he now turns his sights to competing in the Boston Marathon on October 11.

Reed Fischer overtook Lara in the final stages of the race, claiming third in 46:59 with Lara crossing the line in fourth in 47:13.

Shadrack Biwott showed he’s in tremendous shape as he readies for a fall marathon, claiming fifth overall in 47:35, holding off a late charge from Minnesota Distance Elite’s Joel Reichow , who placed sixth one second back in 47:36.

Veterans Kibet and Chris Derrick claimed seventh and eighth place overall in 47:39 and 47:42, while John Raneri and Noah Droddyrounded out the top ten in 47:43 and 47:47 respectively.

Ben True beats Leonard Korir at the USATF 20km Championships

The 2013 World Cross Country silver medallist Champion, Ben True beat a strong field that included Kenyan-born American long-distance runner Leonard Korir at the USATF 20 km Championships that was held on Monday (6) in New Haven, Connecticut

A conservative early pace left a massive contingent of runners in the lead pack of the men’s field. True and fellow veterans Korir, Emmanuel Bor, Clayton Young and Abbabiya Simbassa led the charge, along with Nico Montanez and Brian Shrader.

The field would slowly dwindle, but still have more than a dozen runners, as the men passed through the 10 km mark in 30:30, with True, Shrader, and Korir leading the charge.

Korir, fellow Olympian Jared Ward, Young, Montanez and Shrader started to push the pace around mile nine, as the lead pack started to diminish even more. Ward would eventually drop back, while Reid Buchanan would jump to the front with Young and True.

As the finish line came into view, True, Simbassa and Montanez started a mad dash to the finish. As spectators cheered wildly in the final stretch, True pulled ahead ever so slightly in the last few strides, winning his eighth USATF Running Circuit title and first since 2015.

True crossed the finish in 59:53, one second ahead of both Simbassa in 59:54 and Montanez, also pulling the same time. Korir tried valiantly to maintain pace with the lead trio over the final stretch but faded ever so slightly back to finish in fourth place in 59:58.